Counterdesign: 70s, 80s

November 16, 2017 — February 10, 2018

The US architect Robert Venturi challenged the famous modernist maxim of Mies van der Rohe with a playful «Less is a bore» notion. On November 15, 2017, the Palisander gallery opened its Counterdesign: 70s, 80s exhibition, devoted to postmodernism and its heroes: Ettore Sottsass, Shiro Kuramata, Michele de Lucchi, and other designers who created provocative objects counterposed to mundanity and boredom. 

In accordance with the gallery’s tradition the design pieces were displayed alongside paintings and graphic art of the period, including works by Claude Bellegarde and Ettore Sottsass.

Having witnessed the mid-century era, young designers of the 1970s and 1980s left the modernist style behind intentionally and accused it of being egalitarian and formal. The new forms and materials appeared alongside the new attitude. The rebellious spirit of the late 1960s penetrated all fields of culture, satirizing the consumerist society, rejecting its traditional aesthetics and the middle-class notion of good taste. Counterdesign pieces of the 1970s and 1980s may appear chaotic and irregular to an audience accustomed to the precise proportions of the good design. The new designers abandoned sleek outlines and rich textures in favour of weird awkward shapes, bright colours and innovative materials. They chose lacquered laminate over precious wood, acrylic textiles over leather, aesthetics of a roadside snackbar over a middle-class living room ambience. These unconventional materials and flamboyant forms constructed the language of postmodernist artistic narrative. 

A common household object began to speak for itself and transmit a certain original concept. A designer piece, having preserved its functionality, became a message with numerous associations, quotations and hints. The material poetry of a piece, its concept and semantics came to matter just as much as its beauty, functionality and ergonomics. In the 1970s the «less is more» formula wasn’t relevant any more. Groups of radical designers changed the identity of material culture and gained numerous supporters. Such celebrities, as David Bowie and Karl Lagerfeld started to collect counterdesign of the 1970s and 1980s. 

Since 2015 the design world has been going through a period of renewed interest in radical design of the 1970s and 1980s. Well-known Italian brands appealed to their archives and started to relaunch furniture, textiles and accessories of the time. In 2016 400 postmodernist design pieces were sold at Sotheby’s auction in London. They were part of David Bowie’s collection including works by Ettore Sottsass, Michele de Lucchi and other designers of the 1970s and 1980s. In 2017 fashion for ornaments and colours of the Memphis group (group of radical designers founded by Ettore Sottsass) peaked at international exhibitions and fairs. The year was marked by several major retrospective exhibitions of the maitre, who would have turned 100 years old in 2017.

Контрдизайн: 70-е, 80-е

16 ноября 2017 — 10 февраля 2018

«Меньше — значит скучно» — так перефразировал архитектор Роберт Вентури знаменитое высказывание великого Миса ван дер Роэ. 15 ноября 2017 года галерея «Палисандр» представила выставку «Контрдизайн: 70-е, 80-е», где показала вещи культовых дизайнеров этого времени: Этторе Соттсасса (которому в 2017 исполнилось бы сто лет), Широ Кураматы, Микеле Де Лукки и других авторов, своим творчеством бросивших вызов повседневной скуке.

По традиции галереи – предметы дизайна соседствовали с живописью и графикой этого периода: полотнами Клода Бельгарда и других художников, графикой Этторе Соттсасса.

Молодые дизайнеры 1970-80-х, заставшие эпоху mid-century, намеренно уходят от модернизма, упрекая его в элитарности и сухости. Появляются новые настроения, новые формы и материалы. «Бунтарский дух» конца 1960-х распространяется на все сферы культуры, высмеивая общество потребления, отрицая его традиционные эстетические ценности и само буржуазное понятие хорошего вкуса. Глазу, привыкшему к выверенным пропорциям «хорошего дизайна», предметы контрдизайна 70-х, 80-х могут показаться хаотичным нагромождением. От элегантных силуэтов и дорогих фактур дизайнеры переходят к странным, неудобоваримым формам, яркой цветовой палитре и новым индустриальным материалам. Благородному дереву предпочитают цветной ламинат, натуральной коже – искусственный акрил, обстановке буржуазной гостиной – эстетику придорожной закусочной. Именно эти нестандартные материалы и непривычные, эпатажные формы становятся языком яркого художественного высказывания.

Бытовой предмет впервые начинает «говорить», транслировать определённую авторскую концепцию. Созданная дизайнером вещь, сохраняя свою утилитарность, превращается в своего рода текст с множеством ассоциаций, цитат и намёков. Теперь поэзия вещи, её концепция и смысловая многозначность важна ничуть не меньше, чем красота, функциональность и эргономика. В 1970-е формула «меньше — значит больше» перестала быть аксиомой. Группы радикальных дизайнеров этого времени навсегда изменили облик материальной культуры и сразу завоевали множество поклонников. Страстными коллекционерами контрдизайна 1970-80-х стали такие звёзды. как Дэвид Боуи и Карл Лагерфельд.

Интерьерная индустрия переживает сегодня всплеск интереса к радикальному дизайну 1970-80-х годов. Известные итальянские марки обращаются к своим архивам и переиздают предметы мебели, текстиль и аксессуары того времени. На пике интерьерной моды – принты и цветовая палитра в духе основанной Этторе Соттсассом группы «Мемфис». В 2016-м году в Лондоне прошел аукцион Sotheby’s, на котором с молотка ушла коллекция легендарного музыканта Дэвида Боуи – 400 лотов, среди которых шедевры Этторе Сотсасса, Микеле Де Лукки и других авторов 1970-80-х годов. В этом году ряд известных музеев провёл крупные ретроспективы Этторе Соттсасса, которому в 2017-м исполнилось бы 100 лет.

Michele De Lucchi. Riviera Chairs. Memphis Milano, 1981
Ettore Sottssas. Tahiti Lamp. Memphis MIlano, 1981
Ettore Sottssas. Sans Titre. Lithography. 2001
Andrea Branzi. Revers Chairs. Cassina, 1993