Авторы

Edy Legrand

1892 — 1970

Édouard Léon Louis Warschawsky was born in Bordeaux on July 24, 1892. He attended the School of Fine Arts (École des Beaux-Artes) in Paris and (since 1911) the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich (Akademie der Bildenden Künste München). Legrand’s teacher was Ludwig von Gerterig, a leading representative of the Munich school of art.

In his early years Edy Legrand was mostly engaged in book illustration. In 1919 he illustrated Macao et Cosmage ou l’expérience du bonheur, a children’s book published by the Nouvelle Revue Française. For a long period of time he worked for the Tolmer et Cie publishing house.

Later Legrand came to the USA, having been invited by Marie Steiner, director of the Knoedler gallery in New York. He was a representative of France at the first International Exhibition of Etching and Engraving held by the Art Institute of Chicago. His works were exhibited alongside pieces by Picasso, Matisse and Derrin. 

Legrand later settled in Rabat, Morocco. He made friends with Jacques Majorelle, the famous orientalist. This period of life witnessed the formation of Legrand’s personal style. He was infatuated by Moroccan daily life and the ambience of the city with its small streets, bazaars, endless movement of the crowd, bright colours and light effects. Towards the end of his life Legrand moved to Luberon where he created his last works in a grand stone quarry not far from his house.

Авторы

Эди Легран

Эди Легран (Edy Legrand, 1892 — 1970). 

Эдуард Леон Луи Варшавский родился в Бордо 24 июля 1892 года. Учился в Школе изящных искусств в Париже (École des Beaux-Artes) и (с 1911 года) в Мюнхенской академии художеств (Akademie der Bildenden Künste München). Учителем Леграна был Людвиг фон Гертерих — ведущий представитель мюнхенской художественной школы. 

В ранние годы Эди Леграна в основном занимался книжной иллюстрацией. В 1919 году он впервые иллюстрировал детскую книгу «Macao et Cosmage ou l’expérience du bonheur», изданный Nouvelle Revue française (Новое французское обозрение). Долгое время художник работал в издательстве Tolmer et Cie. 

Позже Легран при приглашению Марии Штайнер, директора нью-йоркской галереи Knoedler, приезжает в США. Представлял Францию на первой всемирной выставке гравюр Чикагского художественного института в 1932 году, где его работы выставлялись рядом с работами Пикассо, Матисса и Дерена. 

Позже поселился в Рабате, Марокко. Здесь завязывается его дружба с Жаком Мажорелем — знаменитым художником-ориенталистом. Именно в это период складывается собственный стиль Леграна. Его увлекает повседневная жизнь Марокко с его улочками, базарами, бесконечным движением толп, яркими цветами и игрой света. В конце жизни переселился в Люберон, где писал свои последние полотна в огромном каменном карьере недалеко от дома.